The Ghosts of Writing Past Part 3. Middle School, Rise of the Net

Alright, time to get into that Tardis again and travel back to yet another moment in my writing past! Today I’ll be focussing on the next phase of my middle school years, which begins around the turn of the millennium. Especially where writing is concerned three particular elements come to the fore during these years. The first is the rise of the internet in my life. While I had used the internet before that was mainly to look things up. After a certain point I became actually active online, mainly on English-language websites and communities. The second element is directly tied to this. During this time I started to write more and more in English, mainly for my stories, but also, obviously, to communicate with the people I met. It has stuck to this day. The third point is role playing, which, as you will see, would form the vast majority of my writing content during these years. Let’s begin.

The Khushrenada Corps (WARNING! SLIGHT SPOILERS FOR GUNDAM WING!)
The middle school years were when my love for anime began and would grow beyond what I could imagine. And if that love had not yet been cemented by Pokémon and Dragonball Z, then Gundam Wing took care of that a few years later. Immediately after one episode the series had me hooked and had one character that, as far as I can remember, was immediately my favourite: Treize Khushrenada, the antagonist for most of the series and probably the show’s most layered and interesting character. So I got online, I stumbled upon a site of a fellow Treize fan, who went by the name of Lady Treize (whose site appears to be down now, unfortunately), and left her a short message. I got a message back, we started to email and IM and very quickly became friends. At some point we started an online roleplay, set a few years after the original series ended and starring the members of the Khushrenada Corps, a group of soldiers seeking to preserve the legacy of Treize. My character, only known by his codename Khushrenada13, was the young commander of the Corps. One by one we wrote a bit from our character’s perspective and this way created a story together. We later made a Yahoo group for this (as well as for the Treize fandom in general), called OZ Soldiers, and had some other people join in with new characters. There were extensive backgrounds for the story, most of the characters, the organizations, the mobile suits and more. I even created a website for the Corps (which I haven’t been able to find back yet)! Unfortunately, the RP didn’t last all that long, or at least the events in the story didn’t. Response (including my own) became slower and slower until it finally drew to a halt. And it has been that way for over ten years now. Maybe there’s some chance of it getting back up one day? It is still online, I believe. Still, I don’t hold out too much hope, especially considering the rate and speed I get in contact with people these days, but hey, you never know…

Sands of Dune
For those who know me even just a little it is no secret that I absolutely adore science-fiction. And without a doubt Frank Herbert’s Dune series is one of my all-time favourites. Now I don’t remember how I got to the site, but at a certain point after the creation of the OZ Soldiers Yahoo group I found myself in a group that had a big Dune roleplay going. The participants all had their own original characters and followed a storyline which was set in the Dune universe, but apart from the canonical works. I started out with two characters: Kaylos Feinin, friend to the Fremen and leader of the Feinin Group – officially an Arrakis based militia or mercenary group, but in reality a vast network with eyes and ears in important places all across the galaxy – and his lieutenant, Zahra. But the longer the story went on and I became a really active and dedicated player, many more characters entered the fray. At some point the creators decided to put in a time skip. After this Sands of Dune didn’t last all that long, but I don’t think it was because of growing inactivity. Rather, the creators had set up another RP group with their own original setting and story (in which I also partook, but more on that later). Sands of Dune stopped shortly after that one began, just at a point when the story was getting really exciting, I believe. Quite a shame. It was a really impressive and active group with quite a fun and enthusiastic community and I, for one, will miss it. And I will always remember it fondly.

Down, Boy! Down!
Wow, these things just seem to get longer and longer! I’m never getting out of middle school at this rate, am I? Well, at least I managed to stop myself before this got several pages long. I really should be keeping a shorter leash on the length of my pieces, but well, that’s really hard when you’re having this much fun with it! But alright, I’ll try my best… Next time will very likely see the last of my writings during my middle school years. There will be more role play, one of my original story ideas and a three-way meeting between my love for science-fiction, my heritage and school! See you then! ^_^

About

Ever since a group of shoes held a birthday party a long, long time ago (though in a galaxy not that far away) a little boy’s appreciation for creation was born. And so, throughout the following years shoes partied, a dinosaur travelled through time, oddly shaped football players went on adventures, a young wanderer became a knight, a comedian rose to godhood, Jedi fought an evil empire, a war between cyborg warlords and human-insect hybrids engulfed the world… The boy had learned how with only words on paper (and from times to time a few pictures) he was able to bring people, places, even entire worlds to life. By now that little boy has reached almost the third decade of his life and his love for telling stories has not ceased. And finally, long after he had planned to, he has decided to share these stories with the world. Whether you are a new or already familiar face: welcome to this little archive of mine! This is a place where I will, finally, actually be sharing my writing with others. It will feature pretty much anything I feel like sharing, both old and new stories, fan-fiction and original content, and probably some non-fiction added in at times. So, if you like reading, writing, stories (or me ^_~), drop by, drop a comment (I can’t promise I’ll get back to you quickly, since I’m horrible at that, but I’ll do my best) and, drop it like it’s hot. … Sorry… ^_^; In any case, I hope you’ll enjoy yourself and I look forward to seeing you around!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in The Ghosts of Writing Past, Writing
3 comments on “The Ghosts of Writing Past Part 3. Middle School, Rise of the Net
  1. […] was initially intended to be an attempt to start my own role playing game, in the same vein as Sands of Dune and Fight for the Galaxy. Everyone who joined could either play one of the characters mentioned […]

  2. […] Wing came not long after that. I despised Wufei Chang almost as much as I was a fan of Treize Khushrenada, and I left no chance untouched glorify the latter and bash the former. The first two stories […]

  3. […] again. I have also, in the past few weeks, returned to the Gundam Wing universe and continued with the writing I used to do there. A story is in the works I hope to present here bit by bit as it progresses. Third: I’m in […]

Leave a Reply

Itsa Me!

 photo Avatar70.png

Who? Just your average descendant of two sea-faring peoples, recently graduated anthropology Master and aspiring author with a life-long passion for writing.

What? Uhm, human. I think... Also a bit crazy, but in a good way. I think...

Where? A land under the sea, far, far away. Occasionally with my head in the clouds.

Why? Trying to get both my work and my love for writing out there, sharing them with others and getting in touch with fellow writers, artists and other like-minded people.

Hi! ^_^

NaNoWriMo
NaNoWriMo 2016
NaNoWriMo 2015

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 445 other followers

Tweets From the Archivist
