The Ghosts of Writing Past Part 5. Middle School, Curtain Fall

Turns out this entry didn’t come out earlier than expected. Blogwise I’ve been so caught up in creating my avatar and offline with my thesis that I haven’t been working on any Ghosts of Writing Pasts. Well, with over a week since the last one, it´s now time close off the middle school period. Aside from the one piece I was going to write about anyway, another story has sprung to mind that was born during at the very end of my middle school years. And that’s the one I’ll be starting with today.

Inferno
I believe I got the inspiration for this story while listening the Scorpions’ Alien Nation. It was probably because of the pumping music and the line ‘face the heat’ (which is also the name of the album it’s on), because the theme of that song and Inferno are really nothing alike. Inferno takes place in the future on a terraformed Mars, where three main peoples live. The Magi are a society in which all the people have some sort of power, though the only group among them that had actually been worked out to some extent were the flamecasters; people who could cast fire from their hands. The rank and power of the flamecasters depends on the colour of fire they can produce, which are from low to high: red/orange, blue, white and silver. There is also the mysterious power known as the Invisible Fire, but it has not been seen for ages. The more powerful the fire the rarer the ones who can cast it. A young man named Caldor Te’lesh is the leader of the Magi and the only Wielder of the Silver Flame. Sechshares is a large and powerful militaristic city and home to its ruler, Lord Aras de Shares, and his daughter Mara. Finally, there are the Eisei, a society of immortal warrior women who vigilantly guard their territory – especially their sacred grounds – against any trespassers. While they appear human, I can’t remember if they actually were. The story begins before Caldor´s birth. Lecenko, a leader of outcasts within the Magi society, is sick of the way non-Magi are treated within the society and makes a deal with Sechshares: he gets all the armaments he needs for a revolution against the Magi in exchange for a single child. This trade would turn out to have severe consequences.

The chapters of the story that have been written – which are unfortunately few and short – switched between the events surrounding Lecenko and his revolution, and the period thirty years later, where the focus lied on either Caldor, Mara or Shana Amraphel, an Eisei guardian captain. I believe the idea was to have the three meet up at some point and rally against Sechshares, but I can very well be completely mistaken here. It’s almost been ten years since I’ve touched it. Like with so many of my stories, the writing process for Inferno never got far and it got stuck after the second chapter (third, if you count the prologue). And like with those other stories I really hope I pick it up again at some point. I really should. Writing it was fun. Finally finishing it maybe even more so…

Dune. Arabic and Islamic Influences in Frank Herbert’s Galaxy Saga
And there it is, the final work I wrote while in middle school. It’s not a story, but I definitely one of my more striking and important writings. I’m not certain how things currently are in Dutch schools, but when I was in my final year everyone had to write a paper on a subject they were interested in. Like I’ve said many times before, I love sci-fi and Frank Herbert’s Dune is among my favourites. As part Lebanese I have some experience with the Arabic language and while reading the Dune books I could not help but recognizing more and more terms that were either based on Arabic or completely taken from it, which really fascinated me. And so, when the time for deciding what my final paper was going to be on, my love for science-fiction, my heritage and school came together. My paper would be titled Dune. Arabic and Islamic Influences in Frank Herbert´s Galaxy Saga (only in Dutch). Obviously, the words and concepts that could be found in the books were discussed, but aside from that I also wrote several chapters on important background information: an introduction to Dune itself; a short biography of its creator Frank Herbert; a brief history on the oil politics in the Middle-East – for which there are clear allegories in Dune – and an analysis of how and why Frank Herbert included these Arabic and Islamic influence in his books. It actually turned out to be a pretty extensive research during which I learned quite a lot about the mentioned subjects. I can’t remember the final grade (I think it was somewhat above average), but my English teacher – who was one of my supervisors for the paper and also pretty familiar with Dune – thought it was so good he gave me the advice to seek out a science-fiction magazine to publish it! But as you might guess, stupid little me never got to it. I don’t know if it was my lack of assertiveness  or something else, but it’s really a shame. I wonder what my writing life had looked like if I had been published back then. Something to look into, maybe? My writing has changed considerably since then, but, well, you never know until you try, right?

And So Passes…
No, not Denethor, silly! My middle school period, of course! ^_~ I said it before, but it really feels like actually ending a period in my life. Feels weird… Since this already got way longer than I expected (you’d think I’d be used to it by now), I’ll probably get another intermission going to properly conclude this period and bridge it and the next one. ‘Till then! ^_^

About

Ever since a group of shoes held a birthday party a long, long time ago (though in a galaxy not that far away) a little boy’s appreciation for creation was born. And so, throughout the following years shoes partied, a dinosaur travelled through time, oddly shaped football players went on adventures, a young wanderer became a knight, a comedian rose to godhood, Jedi fought an evil empire, a war between cyborg warlords and human-insect hybrids engulfed the world… The boy had learned how with only words on paper (and from times to time a few pictures) he was able to bring people, places, even entire worlds to life. By now that little boy has reached almost the third decade of his life and his love for telling stories has not ceased. And finally, long after he had planned to, he has decided to share these stories with the world. Whether you are a new or already familiar face: welcome to this little archive of mine! This is a place where I will, finally, actually be sharing my writing with others. It will feature pretty much anything I feel like sharing, both old and new stories, fan-fiction and original content, and probably some non-fiction added in at times. So, if you like reading, writing, stories (or me ^_~), drop by, drop a comment (I can’t promise I’ll get back to you quickly, since I’m horrible at that, but I’ll do my best) and, drop it like it’s hot. … Sorry… ^_^; In any case, I hope you’ll enjoy yourself and I look forward to seeing you around!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in The Ghosts of Writing Past, Writing
2 comments on “The Ghosts of Writing Past Part 5. Middle School, Curtain Fall
  1. […] mostly at one of my new main projects. For that I will a return to an old never finished story. Inferno was first intended to be an adventure story, a fantastical journey, albeit with some grey morality […]

  2. […] the centre of the story and their background. Furthermore I’ll be looking how to fit the old Inferno into this new story, connect what I had in the old story with where I want to go with the new one. […]

Leave a Reply

Itsa Me!

 photo Avatar70.png

Who? Just your average descendant of two sea-faring peoples, recently graduated anthropology Master and aspiring author with a life-long passion for writing.

What? Uhm, human. I think... Also a bit crazy, but in a good way. I think...

Where? A land under the sea, far, far away. Occasionally with my head in the clouds.

Why? Trying to get both my work and my love for writing out there, sharing them with others and getting in touch with fellow writers, artists and other like-minded people.

Hi! ^_^

NaNoWriMo
NaNoWriMo 2016
NaNoWriMo 2015

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 445 other followers

Tweets From the Archivist
