To Bring A Dream To Life

Image

Y’know… I think it’s finally going to happen! Today I decided I’m going to actively start working on my book! It’s a statement I’ve made it before, multiple times in fact. Everytime I would say it, but I would never pull through. I have a good feeling about this time, though. The past few months I’ve really gotten back on track with my writing. By writing on my blog I’ve managed to actually restart those writing engines again, really get those fires burning and I think the time has come to finally turn that dream into a reality!

So why today of all days? It was a pretty unremarkable day, all things considered. Just studying, playing, reading, talking, eating and writing. Nothing out of the ordinary, really. So what pulled me over? It probably has to do with my study. I’ve mentioned a few times in passing I’m currently working on my Master’s thesis and with every passing day it’s getting closer to completion. I shortly talked about that progress with someone today and I think that was when the bug was planted without me being aware. My time of study is coming to an end in, at most, a few months and then, well, it’s time to get to work. And if I could pick any job I wanted, it would be an author. To write stories, to share them with the world, that has been my dream for quite some time. And to be able to do that, my passion, for a living, to actually have the time to focus on that… Well, that would be a dream come true. ^_^ I’m no complete unrealist (… Shut up! It’s a word now!), though. I know well enough that it won’t just fall in my lap. And maybe, in the end, I’ll never get to the destination, never live that dream. But I’ll be damned if I’m not going to work my gorram best to reach it anyway!

Image

So what’s the plan? What am I going to write? When? How? Am I going to get a traditional publisher or will I go self-publish? How will I be promoting my work, get it out there? And how the heck am I going to do any of those things?! Yeah, there are a LOT of things to take into account that need to be done. For now only the first question is somewhat answered. It’s going to be a collection of short works. Mostly stories, probably, but possibly some poetry, though poetry is a lot harder to actually plan out. I’ll be collecting old stories and ideas that were never finished and I will be conjuring up new ones. The actual content is still mostly a mystery, even for me, but well, baby steps, right?

The reason I’ve decided to start with short works rather than, say, a novel-length story (of which I still have tons of ideas and unfinished ones lying around) is because they’ve always come easier to me. Ironically, I read in an interesting article some time ago that “they’re the most difficult form to write – for genius and exquisitely talented writers only.” I won’t be so arrogant as to go and proclaim I am such a genius and exquisitely talented writer, nor do I mean to disparage Luke in any way (I do love her article and have found it quite inspirational), but short stories hardly ever gave me trouble. Somehow, for me, they were the easiest to write. It probably has something to with the fact that, unlike longer stories, I’m actually able to finish short stories. ^_^

But I’m dwelling in one place again. Let’s wrap things up for today, shall we. First, as of now the priority still lies with finishing my Master’s thesis and my study. No doubt about that. During my, ehm, “study-less” time I will be writing for my blog like I’ve been doing for the past few months, working on Project Realm, the Ghosts of Writing Past and other little or big writings I want to share. But now, next to those two, I will also start making the preparations for bringing my dream another step closer to reality. It’ll mostly take place in the background, but if there are interesting developments I’ll of course be sharing them here. … It’s finally going to happen! I’m pretty excited! … Well, g’night! ^_^

Image

About

Ever since a group of shoes held a birthday party a long, long time ago (though in a galaxy not that far away) a little boy’s appreciation for creation was born. And so, throughout the following years shoes partied, a dinosaur travelled through time, oddly shaped football players went on adventures, a young wanderer became a knight, a comedian rose to godhood, Jedi fought an evil empire, a war between cyborg warlords and human-insect hybrids engulfed the world… The boy had learned how with only words on paper (and from times to time a few pictures) he was able to bring people, places, even entire worlds to life. By now that little boy has reached almost the third decade of his life and his love for telling stories has not ceased. And finally, long after he had planned to, he has decided to share these stories with the world. Whether you are a new or already familiar face: welcome to this little archive of mine! This is a place where I will, finally, actually be sharing my writing with others. It will feature pretty much anything I feel like sharing, both old and new stories, fan-fiction and original content, and probably some non-fiction added in at times. So, if you like reading, writing, stories (or me ^_~), drop by, drop a comment (I can’t promise I’ll get back to you quickly, since I’m horrible at that, but I’ll do my best) and, drop it like it’s hot. … Sorry… ^_^; In any case, I hope you’ll enjoy yourself and I look forward to seeing you around!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Writing
6 comments on “To Bring A Dream To Life
  1. Gede Prama says:

    visit your blog, read an interesting article. thank you friends for sharing and greetings compassion :)

  2. […] The BookProbably the biggest and most ambitious project at the moment, as well as the one with the least progress. But after attaining my Master’s I’ll able to really sit down and look at what direction I actually want to go with this. Besides what has already been planned, of course. […]

  3. […] am glad to report I’m making some progress on “The Book”! It’s only the slightest bit of progress, but progress nonetheless. Slowly but surely the first […]

  4. […] well as some other poetic projects in the background. I’ve also been gathering some ideas for The Book. Aside from Strange Little Girls, the tyrant story and some already existing works and ideas I have […]

  5. […] addition to that some ideas have popped into my head, both for Tyrant and the book as a whole. For the former, I’ve had inspiration for a new character. They may or may not play […]

  6. […] much too long anyway…), but suffice it to say, more so than pretty much any other work for my book it is this one story that needs to be […]

Leave a Reply

Itsa Me!

 photo Avatar70.png

Who? Just your average descendant of two sea-faring peoples, recently graduated anthropology Master and aspiring author with a life-long passion for writing.

What? Uhm, human. I think... Also a bit crazy, but in a good way. I think...

Where? A land under the sea, far, far away. Occasionally with my head in the clouds.

Why? Trying to get both my work and my love for writing out there, sharing them with others and getting in touch with fellow writers, artists and other like-minded people.

Hi! ^_^

NaNoWriMo 2016
NaNoWriMo 2015

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 425 other followers

Tweets From the Archivist
