The Ghosts of Writing Past Part 14. Legacy of the Jedi Temple – Frontline

ImageMy apologies for the belated Ghosts entry. Between the bleh few days of semi-illness on the one side and the wonderful celebration of the 100th post of the Ashukahwa Archives on the other, I’m afraid I haven’t really gotten around to it until now. Now let’s get back to that galaxy far, far away!

Set six years after the events of the Between the Conclaves series, Frontline (a title turned placeholder title which, I believe, was inspired by a song I had heard at the time) brings back characters introduced in earlier stories, introduces new ones and throws them all smack-dab intoain resistance here comes from the Federation of Defenders of the Republic (so linking the picture at the top to this particular entry might be a tad deceptive for the lore purists ^_^;). Founded and headed by Vhiran and Bultar, the Federation is an alliance of several groups seeking to resist and take down the Empire. And yes, I was going for a little pun with the organization’s acronym… I know. It makes very little sense in context… ^_^; Anyway…

Frontline is the story of Federation’s battle against the Empire and plans for a major gambit that, if successful, could severely weaken the Empire. It was initially supposed to be one big story, but as a friend of mine pointed out as he read the story while I wrote it, there were a lot of characters and plotlines going on at once and keeping up with all of them might become confusing. So I took the decision to make it into several stories, all of them taking place pretty much simultaneous to one another, but each with their own focus on specific characters and plotlines.

The first dealt with the leading characters in the Federation – mostly Vhiran and Bultar – and the member organizations, in particular the Ryloth based resistance group Crimson Thunder and the Welana family, the Twi’lek family that founded the organization, still leads it and has ties with Vhiran going back to the early Clone Wars. The focus on the second story switches between two perspectives that were planned to eventually come together: one on a Federation special operative coming to Zaloriis (by now a planet quite central to the overarching storyline) to retrieve a valuable asset for the Federation and the second on the travels and trials of two Crimson Thunder officers and two children they’ve taken in, including Order 66 supporting-character-now-promoted-to-a-more-significant-role Amakusa. The third, finally, brings back several familiar faces. On a large Imperial fortress planet it focuses on the Imperial side of things, bringing back the Inquisitor from Between the Conclaves, who has been charged with command of aforementioned planet. On Coruscant Master Jordan and Nor-Ca Ansto make contact with an anti-Imperial resistance group based on the Imperial capital itself and help it with a bold move to aid the Federation’s plans. There were also parts from the perspective of one other character, an Imperial whose identity up until the point I had written had purposefully been left in the dark. Up to this day I haven’t yet decided on which of the stories was best suited to include those parts in, as, while it is important, it doesn’t quite properly fit in with any of the others.

A fourth story would tie the previous three together and lead to the major final climax of Frontline. It was going to be an epic story and probably one of my most ambitious (personal) projects thus far. Unfortunately, unlike Between the Conclaves, and thus like most of my other stories, Frontline has yet to be finished. Quite a lot has already been written, but I think the halted progress has something to do with both waiting too long with writing a certain scene that I actually forgot what I wanted to write (not lying here!) and getting stuck when trying to rearrange the storylines into the individual stories. This is definitely one I intend to finish, though. It is a major part in the storyline. There are important events that drastically shape the story and characters alike and lead up to the stories that follow. Plus, I’ve come way too far with it to just drop it like that. I’m going to see it through to the end!

One final note: the story’s setting, main focus and primary antagonist? Sound familiar? Yeah… I’ll probably be saying it again once I’ll post Frontline, but I just want to make clear that the similarities between Frontline and the upcoming Star Wars: Rebels TV series (which I’m actually really looking forward to, by the way!) are purely coincidental. I thought up Frontline at least six years ago, so at least five years before Rebels was actually announced, so unless I’m a Time Lord or Lucasarts stole my ideas (wouldn’t be the first time… ^_~) no plagiarism or anything similar was involved in the making of this story. Now if you don’t mind, I have an astromech to catch before it goes off with my plans!

Image
You get back here, you little bucket of bolts!

^_^ Well, see you next time!

About

Ever since a group of shoes held a birthday party a long, long time ago (though in a galaxy not that far away) a little boy’s appreciation for creation was born. And so, throughout the following years shoes partied, a dinosaur travelled through time, oddly shaped football players went on adventures, a young wanderer became a knight, a comedian rose to godhood, Jedi fought an evil empire, a war between cyborg warlords and human-insect hybrids engulfed the world… The boy had learned how with only words on paper (and from times to time a few pictures) he was able to bring people, places, even entire worlds to life. By now that little boy has reached almost the third decade of his life and his love for telling stories has not ceased. And finally, long after he had planned to, he has decided to share these stories with the world. Whether you are a new or already familiar face: welcome to this little archive of mine! This is a place where I will, finally, actually be sharing my writing with others. It will feature pretty much anything I feel like sharing, both old and new stories, fan-fiction and original content, and probably some non-fiction added in at times. So, if you like reading, writing, stories (or me ^_~), drop by, drop a comment (I can’t promise I’ll get back to you quickly, since I’m horrible at that, but I’ll do my best) and, drop it like it’s hot. … Sorry… ^_^; In any case, I hope you’ll enjoy yourself and I look forward to seeing you around!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in The Ghosts of Writing Past, Writing
2 comments on “The Ghosts of Writing Past Part 14. Legacy of the Jedi Temple – Frontline
  1. […] possess. The family that took Vhiran in is actually the Welana family that was introduced in Frontline and the focus on them would be twofold: first there was the connection Vhiran would develop with […]

  2. […] fiction setting we return, as all things must, to Star Wars and more specifically to my own Star Wars fan fiction. Not a whole lot was done here, but I do remember a two-part story called Nill and the […]

Leave a Reply

Itsa Me!

 photo Avatar70.png

Who? Just your average descendant of two sea-faring peoples, recently graduated anthropology Master and aspiring author with a life-long passion for writing.

What? Uhm, human. I think... Also a bit crazy, but in a good way. I think...

Where? A land under the sea, far, far away. Occasionally with my head in the clouds.

Why? Trying to get both my work and my love for writing out there, sharing them with others and getting in touch with fellow writers, artists and other like-minded people.

Hi! ^_^

NaNoWriMo 2016
NaNoWriMo 2015

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 440 other followers

Tweets From the Archivist
