Going Backstage. The Bodisei – Part 7

ImageReturning after almost a week to the foresighted, Force-senstive Bodisei, today I will focus on two largely  (but certainly not entirely!) unrelated parts of their society and culture. Behind the scenes I will this time also look a little bit at the Bodisei in my writing.

Nomadic life
To learn as much from the universe as possible and to spread their knowledge, they travel most of their lives using transport ships equipped with heavy shields and hyperspace generators and each ship containing one family. A Bodisei band often spends a couple of months to a year at the same place, usually a tranquil place, away from urban and industrial areas. While on-planet, their homes can be anything where a small community can live in, with caves, abandoned facilities or set-up camps as most common examples. It is also not uncommon they live aboard their ships while on-planet.

Attitude towards the galaxy
The Bodisei are known for being very tolerant, open minded and non-violent and they often have a positive relationship with the local population. They have, however, little to no understanding and tolerance for those that claim superiority over other, mostly non-sentient and –sapient peoples and races. Bodisei have what others would call a strong sense of justice, though the Bodisei themselves don’t like to use terms like this and rather refer to it as just “doing what should be done”.

They are fierce protectors of the environment and wildlife. Therefore they attempt to disturb these as little as possible and protect it against those who have intention to disturb. This also influences their on-planet place of living, because, unlike many species, Bodisei see it as wrong to destroy one home in order to build one for oneself. Thus they adapt themselves to the landscape instead of the other way around.

Behind the Scenes
And it is here where most of the influence of my personal views on the creation of the Bodisei neatly comes together. I have already mentioned they were intended from the beginning to be a very peaceful people who love and respect life. It was already apparent in their Force abilities and their acceptance of outsiders, but this is where it all comes from. My pacifist and environmentalist ideals were probably at their strongest around the time I created the Bodisei and it clearly shows here. It’s very much an idealist’s ideal view, but I do honestly think there are a lot worse views to hold.

It is this view on life that leads many of my Bodisei characters to inner conflict. Most of them have grown up outside of Bodisei society, but often still hold onto a strong connection with the Bodisei people and ideals. When faced with a situation in which violence or even killing seems unavoidable, this leads them to quite a dilemma. Vhiran is definitely a prime example of this, being a Bodisei Jedi and an adamant advocate of peace on the one hand and a warrior and general of no little renown on the other. During the Clone Wars no less! What can I say… I really like out-of-the-box or out-of-their-element characters, so you can count on them having a strong presence in my stories, whether it’s a noble stormtrooper commander, a cruel rebel leader or, of course, a Bodisei reluctant warrior.

As for the nomadic life. Unfortunately I’m not really certain how or when I came up with that. It does make sense for them, considering their desire to learn and teach and I do suppose not staying in one place too long would be less taxing on the place that would provide for permanent settlers. Otherwise, though, I’m afraid I can remember and thus offer little more background information on the creation of this idea. Sorry… :(

So we almost come to the end of my mini-series of Bodisei. One more part to go. Next time we’ll look at something in Bodisei life that’s a bit on a smaller scale, but something I’ve always been kind of proud of. Until then, may the Force be with you! ^_^

About

Ever since a group of shoes held a birthday party a long, long time ago (though in a galaxy not that far away) a little boy’s appreciation for creation was born. And so, throughout the following years shoes partied, a dinosaur travelled through time, oddly shaped football players went on adventures, a young wanderer became a knight, a comedian rose to godhood, Jedi fought an evil empire, a war between cyborg warlords and human-insect hybrids engulfed the world… The boy had learned how with only words on paper (and from times to time a few pictures) he was able to bring people, places, even entire worlds to life. By now that little boy has reached almost the third decade of his life and his love for telling stories has not ceased. And finally, long after he had planned to, he has decided to share these stories with the world. Whether you are a new or already familiar face: welcome to this little archive of mine! This is a place where I will, finally, actually be sharing my writing with others. It will feature pretty much anything I feel like sharing, both old and new stories, fan-fiction and original content, and probably some non-fiction added in at times. So, if you like reading, writing, stories (or me ^_~), drop by, drop a comment (I can’t promise I’ll get back to you quickly, since I’m horrible at that, but I’ll do my best) and, drop it like it’s hot. … Sorry… ^_^; In any case, I hope you’ll enjoy yourself and I look forward to seeing you around!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Fan Fiction, Writing
One comment on “Going Backstage. The Bodisei – Part 7
  1. […] involved in it and actually unbreakable. The Bonding ceremony was the result. Like I mentioned yesterday, I’m quite proud of this one. While fairly simple, I believe the ceremony is at the same time […]

Leave a Reply

Itsa Me!

 photo Avatar70.png

Who? Just your average descendant of two sea-faring peoples, recently graduated anthropology Master and aspiring author with a life-long passion for writing.

What? Uhm, human. I think... Also a bit crazy, but in a good way. I think...

Where? A land under the sea, far, far away. Occasionally with my head in the clouds.

Why? Trying to get both my work and my love for writing out there, sharing them with others and getting in touch with fellow writers, artists and other like-minded people.

Hi! ^_^

NaNoWriMo 2016
NaNoWriMo 2015

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 435 other followers

Tweets From the Archivist
