A Little Book Update. Little Girls and Tyrants

ImageI am glad to report I’m making some progress on “The Book”! It’s only the slightest bit of progress, but progress nonetheless. Slowly but surely the first in my “Strange Little Girls” series is starting to take shape. Currently only the first verse is actually finished, but words and lines and other parts are slipping in bit by bit. And it’s about time! I started that first verse a month and a half ago! Feels nice to actually see things move along. Now to get that moving past the current snail’s pace. ^_^

I am considering changing the title of the series, though. I think it’s a nice title (as well as a Tori Amos reference, which is never bad), but I’m not certain if it really, fits. I don’t know. Doesn’t matter that much. It’s not like it’s high up on my to-do list. Just something that’s been hanging in the back of my head for a bit. Might stay, might go. We’ll see.

I’ve also been planting seeds for a new story idea in my head, which, if it gets done, I plan on making part of the book. In (very) short, it’s going to be about a group of people seeking to escape from under the yoke of a cruel tyrant. It might not the most original idea at first sight, but then again, it’s only a very general premise and the story’s only in its very early infancy. It’s loosely based on actual events and has a bit of a personal side to it, so I do think I’ll be able to make this my own.

And that’s it for the day. Not quite the meat I had hoped for yesterday, but hey, what are you gonna do? I just enjoyed making the teensiest bit of progress on something other than my thesis and felt like sharing it. Plus, y’know, this way you can also be witness to this ever growing little piece of history in the making. If that isn’t something to tell your grandchildren, I don’t know what is! ^_~

About

Ever since a group of shoes held a birthday party a long, long time ago (though in a galaxy not that far away) a little boy’s appreciation for creation was born. And so, throughout the following years shoes partied, a dinosaur travelled through time, oddly shaped football players went on adventures, a young wanderer became a knight, a comedian rose to godhood, Jedi fought an evil empire, a war between cyborg warlords and human-insect hybrids engulfed the world… The boy had learned how with only words on paper (and from times to time a few pictures) he was able to bring people, places, even entire worlds to life. By now that little boy has reached almost the third decade of his life and his love for telling stories has not ceased. And finally, long after he had planned to, he has decided to share these stories with the world. Whether you are a new or already familiar face: welcome to this little archive of mine! This is a place where I will, finally, actually be sharing my writing with others. It will feature pretty much anything I feel like sharing, both old and new stories, fan-fiction and original content, and probably some non-fiction added in at times. So, if you like reading, writing, stories (or me ^_~), drop by, drop a comment (I can’t promise I’ll get back to you quickly, since I’m horrible at that, but I’ll do my best) and, drop it like it’s hot. … Sorry… ^_^; In any case, I hope you’ll enjoy yourself and I look forward to seeing you around!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Writing
14 comments on “A Little Book Update. Little Girls and Tyrants
  1. […] projects in the background. I’ve also been gathering some ideas for The Book. Aside from Strange Little Girls, the tyrant story and some already existing works and ideas I have another (probably short) story in mind (currently) […]

  2. […] had some more inspiration for the Tyrant story today, which really made me think more actively about the direction I want to go with it. The […]

  3. […] today, because I’m going backstage to write. I have a good feeling about finally kickstarting the tyrant story today, so that’s what I’ll be focussing on most of the evening. Alright, time for […]

  4. […] think I can safely say yesteday was pretty succesful writing-wise. The attempt to start the tyrant story – which I’m from this moment on will be referring to by its placeholder title Tyrant – […]

  5. […] Third time in a row I’m writing on this, but I’m pretty excited about actually getting Tyrant rolling (plus, it’s my blog! ^_~). And for the few days that I’ve been working on it, […]

  6. […] also picked up Inkscape again and started drawing the characters for Tyrant in Order of the Stick style (the one before the latest art upgrade). Gives the story a bit of an […]

  7. […] what to say or what to do. The protagonist (or at least the current point of view character) for Tyrant is different in that […]

  8. […] dropping a couple of small balls I do believe I can call this a fairly successful first week for the first story of my first book. The final tally after seven days was 1,159, meaning I’ve exceeded the initial goal of 100 […]

  9. […] addition to that some ideas have popped into my head, both for Tyrant and the book as a whole. For the former, I’ve had inspiration for a new character. They may […]

  10. […] time to shift gears and get back to work. There are some 1,000 words I have to catch up on for Tyrant, but now that I finally have time and opportunity to focus on it some more I think it should be […]

  11. […] writing I actually seem to be doing! With all this free time you’d think I’d gotten that story at least half-way by now, but no. I’m still lagging behind, catching up from those last days […]

  12. […] itself will be done on a daily basis and will mostly include background writing on stories like Tyrant. Can’t get lazy now, right? […]

  13. […] time-lapse video of to actually witness, but it’s still progress. I got a little further with Tyrant (although I need to catch up again tomorrow, so I have to be careful before I go praise myself too […]

  14. […] this does mean other big projects like Tyrant will probably be taking a backseat to this project, but I have made up my mind and I have chosen my […]

Leave a Reply

Itsa Me!

 photo Avatar70.png

Who? Just your average descendant of two sea-faring peoples, recently graduated anthropology Master and aspiring author with a life-long passion for writing.

What? Uhm, human. I think... Also a bit crazy, but in a good way. I think...

Where? A land under the sea, far, far away. Occasionally with my head in the clouds.

Why? Trying to get both my work and my love for writing out there, sharing them with others and getting in touch with fellow writers, artists and other like-minded people.

Hi! ^_^

NaNoWriMo 2016
NaNoWriMo 2015

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 431 other followers

Tweets From the Archivist
