My Very First Award!

Remember that awesome development I spoke of yesterday? Yes? No? Maybe? Lobster? Alright, time for the revelation! Last Thursday I was nominated for a Liebster Award!

img_5529

Without further ado I would like to give many many thanks to everyone’s favourite Swiss sharer of stuff and such: Penny! I was pretty speechless when I found out I was nominated. I’m still in a bit of daze actually! I had not seen the nomination coming, but I am of course absolutely incredibly grateful! This is the very first award I’ve received since I created the Archives and started writing here! So in case I haven’t been clear yet: thank you! You’re awesome! ^_^

So what’s next? Well, I already thanked my wonderful nominator and displayed the award. Ah, yes. Penny has set up a couple of questions for me to answer, so let’s get to it! Hang on, it’s going to be a long one!


1. Skiing or swimming, and why?

I have only skied once in my life, so I don’t have a lot of comparison, but knowing what I know the choice would probably be swimming. It wouldn’t require me to get to scary heights with my nothing below my feet, it’s more accessible and affordable and I actually know how to do it. Also one of the better ways to exercise, I’m told.

ski-and-swimOr, y’know, why not do both? ^_~

2. Which superhero would you like to be, and why? (if you choose Spiderman, then high-five)

The last question I actually answered, this one. With all the choices in the comic universes alone choosing was, not an easy task. I do hope my final answer will not be seen as cheating too much (or at the worst as semi-cheating)… ^_^;

Neil Gaiman‘s Endless are technically part of the D.C. Universe and if being a god equals being superhero (yes, I know Marvel Thor isn’t actually a god! Hush now!) I’d say so is a personification of a major abstract concept. With that in mind my first choice is going to be either Delirium or Death, both of the Endless. Why either? Because these ladies kick ass! Not necessarily in the literal sense, though I’m sure they’re capable of it, but just, in every sense. They’re powerful, they’re cool, really, really fun and one of them is influenced by Tori Amos! What’s not to love?! ^_^

b6cfc8850c261b2274944d5730473755

My other choice has fallen on Commander Jane Shepard. She may not be the traditional comic book superhero, but I think anyone familiar with the Mass Effect series would count her (I’m not even at the second part of the series yet, though, so I hope I won’t be proven wrong at a later point ^_^;). Because, come on, wouldn’t you want to be a badass extraordinaire, travel around the galaxy in an awesome starship, go on an epic quest to save said galaxy and sound like Jennifer Hale?!

femshepCanon FemShep or Riot!

Yes, I am aware they’re all women. What of it? It’s the awesomeness and badassitude that matters!

3. Which book speaks to you, personally, the most? (I swear if you say Twilight, I un-nominate you)

Team Jacob all the way! … No, wait! Where are you going?! … But seriously, that’s a real tough one. There are a lot of books I’ve read that I find amazing, including but not limited to most of Neil Gaiman’s oeuvre. I suppose if there’s one single book I can say really influenced me it would be Kate Bornstein‘s Gender Outlaw. On Men, Women and the Rest of Us. It completely changed the way I look at gender – and gender identity in particular – and broadened my horizon. This again has strongly influenced the direction I took in my study. Besides that it’s both a really fun and very informative read.

As for a fictional book I’d say The Brothers Lionheart by Astrid Lindgren. My favourite book as a child and it’s still one of the most beautiful and powerful books I’ve ever read. Well-written, thrilling, emotional, adventurous and taking its readers seriously: this is what children’s books should be like!

4. If you could go into the past and do one thing – and only one thing – what would it be?

I’d travel to the creation of the blueprint of humanity and make a couple of adjustments. Mainly taking out the sucky parts like the penchant for violence, death and destruction. That and of course having everyone unconditionally accept me as their supreme overlord. You know, the usual.

kneel
That’s me alright, always burdened with glorious purpose.

5. A propos: Would you rather time-travel to the past, or to the future?

Ooh, these questions are just relentless! ^_~ This is great, though. Time travel has been a long-time dream of mine (which a teacher unknowingly yet brutally crushed when I was eight), so I’m loving these! Both seeing what actually happened and what’s going to happen sound really tempting and I’m already so bad at making choices. But alright. I suppose, after careful consideration, I choose…

<_<

>_>

*sneaks into loophole*

I shall go to the future, to where there are properly working time machines and with it shall take one and be able to travel across all of time! Ha! You did not foresee that! … But, but what if time machines were invented in the past and then destroyed before my present? …

curses-foiled-again

6. If you were offered a fully sponsored trip to the moon, would you dare to take it? (I personally feel that plummeting to my doom from the top of the atmosphere might be a little nerve-wracking)

If the mental and physical preparation is included then absolutely! Going to space at least once in my life has long been on my to-do list. I mean, it’s space! And if the sponsor is Drax Industries that would also mean I’m among the hottest people on the planet! Yeah, sign me up! ^_^

moonraker-draxWhat could possibly go wrong?

7. Would you rather be the only immortal being ever, or the only mortal being?

As tempting as immortality and its many possibilities might seem the thought of losing the people I care about is painful enough to me in a single lifetime. To have it happen again and again only and eventually be all alone as nobody and nothing else remains… Suffice it to say I’m with Arwen on this one.

fd0b081669b8029433e5ac0885d3e06a

8. Fashion or comfort?

Definitely comfort. I’ve never been one to follow or conform to the latest fashion trends and just wear whatever I feel comfortable in, both mentally and physically. I don’t necessarily mind getting all suited up and fabulous, but unless I’m secretly Barney Stinson or Tommy Wiseau I don’t encounter a whole lot of situations in which a tux is preferable to a shirt and comfortable pants.

9. How do you think you are going to die? How would you like to die? (not trying to be dismal)

If the many dilemma’s one of my friends used pose to our little group of three on a regular basis (they all went like “Would you rather be crushed under the wheels of an Opel Frontera or [fill in something awesome happening to you]?”) have anything to do with it, probably crushed under the wheels of an Opel Frontera.

My actual death is probably going to be something fairly unexciting like old age. Which is actually perfectly fine by me. As long as I’ve had a fulfilling life I can happily look back on I prefer to go peacefully, either in my bed or a(nother) beautiful location, surrounded by those I love. Hey, it’s not a finale to a big action blockbuster, but it’s how I’d like mine to go.

10. What would you name newborn twins (a girl and a boy) if you had them tomorrow?
Ah, the single hardest part of the character creation process in any game that has the option (life being the exception, of course): naming! And two at once, no less! As a major geek I already have quite a bit of choices at my disposal. We have the classic if somewhat obvious Leia and Luke, Cersei and Jaime (for if I were feeling particularly cruel), Fred and George (hey, either name can work for either child!) or the more recent Eska and Desna, to name just a few. Oh, oh! Let’s not forget Metropolis and Gotham! Or of course:

My kids are gonna love their dad! >:)

But in the case none fit with the children’s last time and/or the mother does not agree with any of these undoubtedly awesome and epic choices… For a girl I quite like Zahra, Oumeima, Jafra or Souha. For a boy? I, must honestly admit I don’t really know. Not sure what it says about me, but, for some reason I just don’t know. I did say I’m really bad at making choices, didn’t I? ^_^;


And so we come at the end of my answering of the questions. On to the nominees to whom I shall pass the Liebster Award!

1. Grady P. Brown

2. Dave K. Heath (I hope I wrote out your name correctly!)

3. Dr. Kirsten Slater

4. Ryan Lanz

5. Robert Okaji

6. K.G. Bethlehem

7. Rachael Stanford

8. Del Nolan

9. Eye Will Not Cry

10. Shadow of Iris

Your instructions are as follows:

1. Thank your awesome nominator (that would be me :P).

2. Display the Liebster Award on your blog.

3. Nominate 10 other bloggers.

And finally:

1. What inspired you to start writing?

2. Do you think there is such a thing as objectively good or bad writing?

3. What inspired you to start your blog?

4. Something completely different now: who is your favourite starship captain (ranks other than captain allowed) and why?

5. Do you prefer to watch your series, films and/or other audiovisual media dubbed or subbed and why?

6. What do you consider your greatest creation?

7. Spring, Summer, Autumn or Winter and why?

8. Which quote best describes you?

9. Would you rather have a short, exciting and eventful life or a long, peaceful and uneventful life?

10. If you could say something to the god of death that he hasn’t been told yet, what would it be?

And there we are. Now go forth and answer this bunch of questions, my dear nominees! ^_^

About

Ever since a group of shoes held a birthday party a long, long time ago (though in a galaxy not that far away) a little boy’s appreciation for creation was born. And so, throughout the following years shoes partied, a dinosaur travelled through time, oddly shaped football players went on adventures, a young wanderer became a knight, a comedian rose to godhood, Jedi fought an evil empire, a war between cyborg warlords and human-insect hybrids engulfed the world… The boy had learned how with only words on paper (and from times to time a few pictures) he was able to bring people, places, even entire worlds to life. By now that little boy has reached almost the third decade of his life and his love for telling stories has not ceased. And finally, long after he had planned to, he has decided to share these stories with the world. Whether you are a new or already familiar face: welcome to this little archive of mine! This is a place where I will, finally, actually be sharing my writing with others. It will feature pretty much anything I feel like sharing, both old and new stories, fan-fiction and original content, and probably some non-fiction added in at times. So, if you like reading, writing, stories (or me ^_~), drop by, drop a comment (I can’t promise I’ll get back to you quickly, since I’m horrible at that, but I’ll do my best) and, drop it like it’s hot. … Sorry… ^_^; In any case, I hope you’ll enjoy yourself and I look forward to seeing you around!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Writing
2 comments on “My Very First Award!
  1. Penny says:

    well damnnnn this did NOT disappoint! (ill join you on team jacob btw :P)
    i cried at the end of the brothers lionheart ^^
    must remember to continue to nominate you for stuff if the chance ever arises :D

    • Ashukahwa says:

      Yes, join me! With our combined strength we will finally rid the world of shirts once and for all! :P

      I’m glad to see to see that amazing book is getting the appreciation it deserves. :)

      Thank you! And also thank you again for nominating me! It was a ton of fun and I definitely won’t mind doing something like this again sometime! ^_^

Leave a Reply

Itsa Me!

 photo Avatar70.png

Who? Just your average descendant of two sea-faring peoples, recently graduated anthropology Master and aspiring author with a life-long passion for writing.

What? Uhm, human. I think... Also a bit crazy, but in a good way. I think...

Where? A land under the sea, far, far away. Occasionally with my head in the clouds.

Why? Trying to get both my work and my love for writing out there, sharing them with others and getting in touch with fellow writers, artists and other like-minded people.

Hi! ^_^

NaNoWriMo 2016
NaNoWriMo 2015

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 440 other followers

Tweets From the Archivist
