Daily Writing Part 100. Story of Poems Part 45 – Special Edition!

Random words of the day: Tears. Joke / Ferry. Shirt / Silence. Croissant

Here we are at yet another quite exciting moment in Ashukahwa Archives! One-hundred installments of the very fist series of the blog, the one that kicked off my new age of writing: Daily Writing! For two years now I’ve been using the always very unpredictable but still trusty Random Word Generator to create inspiration whenever it was lacking, sometimes successfully, sometimes less so. For this special occasion I had planned to do things a little differently, writing a short story where characters and elements that have appeared in the various Daily Writings come together, as a reunion of sorts. That, unfortunately, I did not manage. The various (upcoming) changes to my weekly schedule are taking more out of me, mentally, than I had expected and cut into my writing (as evident from the past two days). I suppose I can leave that for when we reach another big number.

What then? This does need to be celebrated, right? Right! And that is where we come to the series quite prominent in the Daily Writing posts: the story of poems known as The Artist’s Tale! It too has reached a nice ‘milestonian’ (it’s a word now!) number today with its 45th part! Yes, it has taken up nearly half of all the posts in Daily Writing! So today I present to you no less than a triple edition of The Artist’s Tale to celebrate the strange story about the eerie events of an awesome assemblage of colourful characters! And we have some very interesting developments going on today! Please enjoy this very special installment of Daily Writing and The Artist’s Tale and do have some cupcakes! ^_^

The Artist’s Tale. Chapter 3
In the woods the chase was on
The sentry ran like hell
He held his blade, made of a tusk
And tracked a sharp, rank smell

But the scorpions seemed vanished now
So far they were ahead
They’d stopped to make a hearty meal
A berry-lentil bread

They stored the food within a bin
Stacked laundry to the air
That tower made of stinking clothes
Would lead the sentry there

Their plan unfolded swimmingly
One step was left to take
Before they would be shooting off
To fix a grand mistake

As the sentry came his nostrils flared
And angrily he squawked

I demand my berries now returned
Or in a cupboard you’ll be locked!”

Take this, eat up,” a scorpion spoke
And handed him the bin
“Then we can go and stop the Cult”
“Be saviours of our kin”

Is this some kind of joke, perhaps?!”
The sentry cried, dismayed
And tears did quickly fill his eyes
His sight did swiftly fade

Why did you wreck these fruits I got
From my big brother Ferry?!”
He clutched his shirt, fell to his knees
Watching the bits of berry

As silence fell a scorpion laughed
“We can get more from Aunt
Please eat now, little brother dear
It tastes just likes croissant!”


For the first chapter of The Artist’s Tale click here.

For the second chapter of The Artist’s Tale click here.

About

Ever since a group of shoes held a birthday party a long, long time ago (though in a galaxy not that far away) a little boy’s appreciation for creation was born. And so, throughout the following years shoes partied, a dinosaur travelled through time, oddly shaped football players went on adventures, a young wanderer became a knight, a comedian rose to godhood, Jedi fought an evil empire, a war between cyborg warlords and human-insect hybrids engulfed the world… The boy had learned how with only words on paper (and from times to time a few pictures) he was able to bring people, places, even entire worlds to life. By now that little boy has reached almost the third decade of his life and his love for telling stories has not ceased. And finally, long after he had planned to, he has decided to share these stories with the world. Whether you are a new or already familiar face: welcome to this little archive of mine! This is a place where I will, finally, actually be sharing my writing with others. It will feature pretty much anything I feel like sharing, both old and new stories, fan-fiction and original content, and probably some non-fiction added in at times. So, if you like reading, writing, stories (or me ^_~), drop by, drop a comment (I can’t promise I’ll get back to you quickly, since I’m horrible at that, but I’ll do my best) and, drop it like it’s hot. … Sorry… ^_^; In any case, I hope you’ll enjoy yourself and I look forward to seeing you around!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Daily Writing, Poetry, Writing

Leave a Reply

Itsa Me!

 photo Avatar70.png

Who? Just your average descendant of two sea-faring peoples, recently graduated anthropology Master and aspiring author with a life-long passion for writing.

What? Uhm, human. I think... Also a bit crazy, but in a good way. I think...

Where? A land under the sea, far, far away. Occasionally with my head in the clouds.

Why? Trying to get both my work and my love for writing out there, sharing them with others and getting in touch with fellow writers, artists and other like-minded people.

Hi! ^_^

NaNoWriMo 2016
NaNoWriMo 2015

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 435 other followers

Tweets From the Archivist
