Fountain of Youth

When I started this blog in the final weeks of 2013, I was , as my About section states, nearing thirty years of living on this blue and green (and increasingly grey) celestial body we call Earth. By now I have passed that line and am less than half a year away from adding an I to that triple X. Despite really not that old an age, it’s one of those times in peoples’ lives where they tend to stand still and do some reflecting, looking back on the years that went before, with pride at what they have achieved and with disappointment at they haven’t. Planning for what lies ahead may also occasionally pop its head around the corner.

midlife_crisis

While I’ve certainly been doing some pondering of my own, that will not be the subject for the day, not precisely. Let’s talk, rather, about an amusing encounter I had today. Being nearly out of bread, as you tend to be, I decided to pay the supermarket a quick visit.

adventure-ho-o.gif

On my way there I took along some cooking ingredients, some licorice that was on sale (and I wonder why I getting in shape is taking as long as it is!) and what did I suddenly spy with my little eye as I passed the liquor section? Why ’twas none other than a bottle of Martini, one of my favourite inebriation inducing beverages! It had been quite a while since I last had one, so I thought to myself: hey, taking one won’t hurt (and it didn’t, probably to the disappointment of some of you ^_^)! And so I took one. With my basket filled with what all things I needed (and some that I didn’t) I made my way to the cash register. As it was my turn the cashier suddenly asked me an unexpected question: are you really older than twenty-five?

tumblr_maowrf8nzS1rgfzh9o1_500

Now, here in the Netherlands, people of eighteen and older can buy alcohol, but cashiers are still obligated to ask identification if a customer purchasing alcohol looks younger than twenty-five (because people apparently don’t age between age eighteen and twenty-five, or something). Let’s pull back to that first paragraph over there… Yeah, still thirty’s alright. Interesting… I knew shaving my beard (it’s temporary, different story) took away a few years, but this? It was certainly unexpected, to say the least, but when I got beyond my confuzzlement, showed my ID (seeing a missed opportunity for a Star Wars reference now…) and payed for the groceries I continued my way home, more than a little amused. Hey, if this is what I look like at thirty, I might just be ending up on a list like this somewhere down the line! And it does add some credibility to the long-standing (no, not really) theory that I, unbeknownst to myself, have the Fountain of Youth in my home somewhere. I wonder what age she thought I really was…

I know I don’t do stories like these that often, but I thought it was enjoyable enough to share. Plus, it was high time I’d get something a bit more cheerful in here. I hope you’ve been entertained with this little slice of daily life. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I must take my leave and skip along!

Picture: Cliff Donaldson phone: 077 5925 3331 email: pictures.cd@gmail.com

 

 

About

Ever since a group of shoes held a birthday party a long, long time ago (though in a galaxy not that far away) a little boy’s appreciation for creation was born. And so, throughout the following years shoes partied, a dinosaur travelled through time, oddly shaped football players went on adventures, a young wanderer became a knight, a comedian rose to godhood, Jedi fought an evil empire, a war between cyborg warlords and human-insect hybrids engulfed the world… The boy had learned how with only words on paper (and from times to time a few pictures) he was able to bring people, places, even entire worlds to life. By now that little boy has reached almost the third decade of his life and his love for telling stories has not ceased. And finally, long after he had planned to, he has decided to share these stories with the world. Whether you are a new or already familiar face: welcome to this little archive of mine! This is a place where I will, finally, actually be sharing my writing with others. It will feature pretty much anything I feel like sharing, both old and new stories, fan-fiction and original content, and probably some non-fiction added in at times. So, if you like reading, writing, stories (or me ^_~), drop by, drop a comment (I can’t promise I’ll get back to you quickly, since I’m horrible at that, but I’ll do my best) and, drop it like it’s hot. … Sorry… ^_^; In any case, I hope you’ll enjoy yourself and I look forward to seeing you around!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Writing
2 comments on “Fountain of Youth
  1. You’re only as old as you feel, right?

Leave a Reply

Itsa Me!

 photo Avatar70.png

Who? Just your average descendant of two sea-faring peoples, recently graduated anthropology Master and aspiring author with a life-long passion for writing.

What? Uhm, human. I think... Also a bit crazy, but in a good way. I think...

Where? A land under the sea, far, far away. Occasionally with my head in the clouds.

Why? Trying to get both my work and my love for writing out there, sharing them with others and getting in touch with fellow writers, artists and other like-minded people.

Hi! ^_^

NaNoWriMo 2016
NaNoWriMo 2015

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 440 other followers

Tweets From the Archivist
